Top Stories

Amartya Sen, Nobel Prize-winning economist, refuses to accept the Banga Vibhushan Prize

Nobel laureate economist Amartya Sen refused to accept the Banga Vibhushan Prize. This special honor was granted by the government of West Bengal. Sen was said to have informed state government officials in the first week of July that he would not be in India during the awards ceremony.

The awards will be given by the Bengal government in Kolkata on Monday. He told a member of the Sen family that he is currently in Europe. Antara Dev Sen, Sen’s daughter, said that she has received many awards and wants to give Banga Vibhushan to others.

The Left Front appealed not to receive the award
The Left Front had earlier appealed to intellectuals including Nobel laureates Amartya Sen and Abhijit Vinayak Sen not to accept the award. The opposition party alleged corruption in the West Bengal School Services Commission (WBSSC) and described the state government as corrupt.

Amartya Sen’s name was announced on Saturday
Amartya Sen has been nominated for the Banga Vibhushan Prize by the Bengal Government and his name was announced on Saturday. It is known that the Banga Vibhushan Samman was awarded by the Government of West Bengal to honor services in various fields.

Today they will be honored
The three major football club chiefs of Kolkata East Bengal, Mohun Bagan and Mohamadan will award the Banga Vibhushan Saman award. Abhijit Vinayak Bandyopadhyay will also be honored. Apart from that, this honor will be given to SSKM Hospital. This is the first time that an institution has been congratulated. Celebrities like Amala Shankar, Mahasweta Devi, Sandhya Mukherjee, Supriya Devi and Mana Di are known to have received this accolade.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button