Top Stories

Ashok Stump Sarnath, History and Law of the National Emblem Controversy around the New Parliament Building – India India News

It became the subject of debate once the national emblem was revealed in the new building of the House of Representatives. It was opened by Prime Minister Modi on Sunday after prayers. Now the opposition says that the national slogan has changed. The lions in which they are built differ from the column in Sarnath. Many politicians say that the lion of the national emblem on the roof of the central view appears in an aggressive pose while the lions of the original pillar are in a calm pose. The controversy started after TMC Member of Parliament Mahua Moitra tweeted about her now switching from Satyamev Jayate to Singhmev Jayate.

What is the history of Ashoka Pillar?
Emperor Ashoka was the third ruler of the Maurya dynasty. He is one of the most powerful rulers. He was born in 304 BC. His empire extended from Taxila to Mysore. He ruled from Bangladesh in the east to Iran in the west. Emperor Ashoka gave this message by erecting pillars in many places in his empire that this state is under our control. In many places, pillars made of Ashoka were found, on which the image of a lion was made. But the lions in his column in Sarnath and Sanchi look calm. It is believed that these two symbols were created after their conversion to Buddhism.

Opposition raises questions about Ashoka’s column in new parliament, compares Prashant Bhushan Godse

Emperor Ashoka fought many wars during his life. He also did a great job in education and established the universities of Taxila, Vikramshila and Kandahar. In 261 BC, when a huge massacre occurred at the Battle of Kalinga, Emperor Ashoka felt great remorse and decided to keep the weapons. espoused Buddhism. Even after that, he got the pillars of Ashoka that made the image of the lions calm and gentle.

What is the message?
The Ashoka Pillar in Sarnath was adopted as the national emblem on August 26, 1950. The Ashoka Pillar appears on important government documents, and coins. This symbol illustrates the war and peace policy of Emperor Ashoka. Its four lions represent confidence, strength, courage and pride. At the same time, a bull and a horse were made at the bottom. In the middle is the dharma chakra. There is an elephant in the east and a bull in the west. Horses in the south and lions in the north. There are chakras between them. This chakra is included in the national flag. The Satyameva Jayate is written at the bottom of the column and is a sutra of Mundakopanishad.

The picture is taken from the wrong angle, no change; The sculptor said in the dispute over national symbols

What is the opinion of the law?
When the Ashoka Pillar was considered a national symbol, some rules were made about it as well. Ashoka Pillar can only be used by persons holding constitutional positions. It includes the President of India, Vice President, Prime Minister, Representatives, Legislators, Governors, Deputy Governors and Senior Officials. The Indian National Symbols (Prevention of Abuse) Act 2000 was enacted to prevent misuse of national symbols. It was revised in 2007. According to this, if a private citizen uses the Ashoka Pillar, he can be imprisoned for two years or fined Rs 5,000 or both.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button