Top Stories

BJP MP Sunny Deol among 8 MPs who did not vote in presidential election – India India News

BJP MP from Gurdaspur in Punjab, Sunny Deol is among eight MPs who did not vote in Monday’s presidential election. Returning officer Rajya Sabha General Secretary said among the absentees were two BJP MPs and Shiv Sena and one each from Congress, Socialist Party, AIMIM and BSP.

Neither Sunny Deol nor BJP Union Minister Sanjay Dhotri did not vote. Deol is abroad for treatment, while Daughter is in the hospital. Atul Singh of BSP could not vote due to being in prison. Shiv Sena’s Gajanan Kirtikar and Hemant Godse remained absent, nor did Jalil Imtiaz from AIMIM attend to cast their votes.

Draupadi Murmu or Yashwant Sinha, who will be the 15th president of the country? Close the “luck” in the ballot box

Murmu’s vote share is likely to reach nearly two-thirds

Earlier, MPs and MLAs across the country voted on Monday to elect Draupadi Murmu, the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate and Yashwant Sinha, the opposition parties candidate, to be the 15th president of India. With the dominance of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the support of regional parties such as Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Shiromani Akali Dal, Shiv Sena and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Mormo’s vote is close to two-thirds, and will be The first female leader and the second woman from a tribal community to hold the highest constitutional office.

By voting so hard in the presidential election, Pawar, Sonya and Akhilesh couldn’t handle their clan

More than 99 percent of voter turnout in presidential elections

Representatives exercised the franchise in the booths of House Chamber 63. At the same time, MLAs voted in state assemblies. A total of 4,809 electors, including 776 MPs and 4,033 multilateral ACTs, are entitled to vote in the elections, but nominees, MLAs, and members of the legislature do not have this right. After the voting ended, the Election Commission said that more than 99 percent of the total electorate voted in the presidential election. In Delhi, returning employee Bessi Modi said 98.90 per cent of voters exercised their privilege in Parliament House.

Melim and Nesith could not cast their ballots in the presidential election in the first place, and were given new ballot papers.

These people voted in Parliament

Returning officer Modi told reporters after the vote that the Election Commission had given permission for 736 voters, including 727 MPs and 9 MLAs, to vote in Parliament House. Eight MPs, including BJP MP Sunny Deol, did not exercise the franchise. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah and Congress leaders Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi were among those who voted in Parliament.

Mutual vote for Murmu

Votes will be counted on July 21 and the next president will be sworn in on July 25. The result is already clear, but some lawmakers from opposition parties in other states, including Assam, Gujarat and Maharashtra, voted for Mormo. When the votes are counted, it will be known how many MPs and MLAs voted the subscriber. In Assam, the All India Democratic United Front (AIUDF) Karimuddin Parboyan claimed that about 20 Congress MLAs from the state “voted”. In Uttar Pradesh, Shivpal Singh Yadav also claimed he would never support Yashwant Sinha, once accusing his brother and Samajwadi Party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav of being an “ISI agent”.

The election of the president was like this

Secret ballot system is followed in presidential elections and parties cannot issue whips to their deputies and MLAs with respect to voting. Due to the absence of the Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly, the value of an MP’s vote in this presidential election has been reduced from 708 to 700. The value of the AML vote varies from state to state. This value is 208 in Uttar Pradesh, followed by 176 in Jharkhand and Tamil Nadu. In Maharashtra it is 175. In Sikkim, the voting value of each MLA is seven, while it is nine in Nagaland and eight in Mizoram.

As per the instructions of the Election Commission, MPs get green colored ballot papers, while MLAs get pink colored ballot papers. The different color helps returning officers to know the value of both the MLA and MP’s vote. The Election Commission called for the vote to be kept secret, and issued a specially designed pen with purple ink for voters to jot down their ballot papers.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button