Top Stories

Fresh speculation of split in state congressmen makes renewed bid to shift to BJP – India News

Back at the Goa Congress, a new bid was launched on behalf of several MLAs to join the BJP. Last week, Congress barely tried to cover up the ongoing rebellion among lawmakers. Now again there is speculation that a group of Congress is making a new attempt to form a faction and join the BJP.

Multiple sources have confirmed that former Goa Chief Minister Digambar Kamat and Michael Lobo, who was the leader of the opposition until last Saturday, may resign from the Congress. Congress has 11 MLAs in the 40-member Goa assembly and to avoid taking action against the ADA, any group would need to agree to switch two-thirds of the MLAs, meaning eight lawmakers would have to change their positions.

Read also- Party continues to lose and leaders leave, Digambar Kamat angered Congress after working in Goa

Advice for leaders to speed up plans

If the sources are to be believed, the BJP is keen to portray the Congress as a sinking ship and has asked the Congress leaders to expedite their plans. Both Kamat and Lobo declined to comment on new speculation that they were ready to join the BJP.

Before Congress conspiracy

On Sunday, Congress publicly admitted that the BJP along with MLAs Digambar Kamat and Michael Lobo had attempted to orchestrate a plot. The attempt failed after the requested number was not reached. At the same time, an uneasy situation prevailed between the leadership of the Congress and its leaders.

Kamat is among the experienced politicians in Goa

Kamat is among the experienced politicians in Goa. Kamat was first elected as an MLA in 1994 on the BJP ticket and has been representing Margao constituency in South Goa ever since. Kamat joined the Congress in 2005 after the government led by Manohar Parikar was overthrown and the United Progressive Alliance came to power in the center. Then, in 2007, he also led a coalition government in Goa and became Prime Minister. The coalition includes the National Congress Party, Maharashtrawadi Jomantak Party and other members.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button