Top Stories

Prime Minister Modi congratulates Indian badminton team on historic Thomas Cup win

The Indian badminton team won the Thomas Cup title for the first time by defeating defending champion Indonesia in the third match in a row. India beat 14-times champion Indonesia 3-0 in a one-sided fashion, winning the first three matches. For India, Lakshya Sen won the men’s doubles, Satwiksiraj Rankiriddi and Chirag Shetty in the men’s doubles, and Kedambe Srikanth won their matches in the men’s singles category. Congratulating the team on this historic victory for India, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said this win will inspire the young players.


Related news

Prime Minister Modi tweeted: “Indian badminton team made history! The whole nation is happy for India to win the Thomas Cup! Congratulations to our successful team and we wish them all the best in future tournaments. This win will inspire many young players.

In the first match, he defeated world number nine Lakshya Sen and world number four Anthony Sinisuka Genting in the men’s singles category, while in the second match, he defeated Satwixirag Rankriddi and Chirag Shetty (Satwixirag Rankriddi) in the men’s doubles category. Chirag Shetty) defeated the Indonesian pair of Kevin Sanjaya and Muhammad Ahsan (Muhammad Ahsan and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo). Meanwhile, in the third match, Kedambi Srikanth beat Jonathan Christie to make India the Thomas Cup champion for the first time.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button