Top Stories

Wimbledon Final 2022 Novak Djokovic wins his 21st Wimbledon Grand Slam title

Wimbledon 2022: Serbian world number one Novak Djokovic beat Australian Nick Kyrgios to win his seventh Wimbledon title on Sunday. Djokovic, who has a record 32 grand slam final, beat unseeded Kyrgios 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, 7-6 (3) in the men’s singles final. This is Djokovic’s fourth consecutive Wimbledon title. Kyrgios received a semi-final round due to Rafael Nadal’s injury and was playing his first Grand Slam final. Djokovic had earlier won the title in 2011, 2014, 2015, 2018, 2019 and 2021. With his seventh title, Djokovic equaled the singles record held by Pete Sampras of America.

Elena Rybakina defeated Ons Jaber to win her first Grand Slam title at Wimbledon 2022

Djokovic advanced 6-1 in the fourth set of the fourth set and replaced the third match point when Kyrgios’ backhand grabbed the ball into the net. This is Djokovic’s 21st Grand Slam title, less than record holder Rafael Nadal. He is also second only to Roger Federer in terms of winning the most Wimbledon titles. The legendary Federer won eight titles at Wimbledon.

Djokovic and Kyrgios faced each other for the first time at Wimbledon in the final. Earlier, Kyrgios and Djokovic met face to face twice and the Australian won both times. Although Djokovic has now won 86 out of 96 matches at Wimbledon.

Djokovic has so far won 28 consecutive matches at Wimbledon. By reaching his final 32 at the Grand Slam, Djokovic also broke Roger Federer’s record (31) for most finals. By winning his 21st Grand Slam title, the Serbian is now close to arch-rival Rafael Nadal’s record of winning 22 Grand Slam titles.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button